4 Affordable & Balanced Red Wines

IMG_7688

If you are like me, you enjoy a nice glass of red wine after your work or school day. Now I am a student and on a budget, so this habit I enjoy and look forward to so much can be a bit of a nuissance on my bank account. I find myself missing Italy more and more where a six euro bottle of wine is a well balanced, perfectly tannic and rounded bottle of red wine. In America, that is not the case. Bottles of wine around the 10 dollar range tend to lack any flavor or body and often end up being cheap wines that will leave you with nothing but a headache the next day.

This is my dilemma and the reason I am writing this post, because I have been able to find five dependable bottles of red wine that are perfect for a habitual wine drinker on a budget.

4 Go To Red Wines for A Young Habitual Wine Drinker

1. Josh Cabernet Sauvignon – Joseph Carr Vineyards  $13

A complex and smooth Cabernet with notes of oak, black currant and spice. Structured wine with a long finish.  2012 vintage provides a medium/full bodied cabernet that is a great go to wine, even for entertaining I would say. Not to mention, supporting the vineyard donates to the military. It is a win win situation! 😉

2. Cantele Salice Salentino Riserva  $15

A wine produced in Southern Italy, demonstrates a beautifully balanced wine of tannic and acidity. It is lush with undernotes of fruit and spice demonstrating a deep ruby color with hues of garnet.

  • Critic Rating: ST  90
    International Wine Cellar“Good full ruby-red. Dark cherry and graphite aromas are lifted by an enticing spicy character. Supple, spicy and sweet, offering an uncanny combination of vibrancy, fat and density. Finishes suave and long, with fine, sweet tannins and very good lift.”

3. Francis Ford Coppola Rosso & Bianco – Rosso  $10

This is an affordable American red blend of Zinfandel, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Syrah. Francis Ford Coppola is a dependable wine brand that you can always go to. This being so, I turned to them for my search of an everyday wine and they didn’t dissapoint. It is the perfect wine to go with various types of meals and is an easy drink on its own without lacking complexity.

4. Baus Family Vineyards Pinot Noir  $14

A red wine from Sonoma in California, this pinot has notes of black cherry and a hint of tobacco. This is a wine I enjoy both on its own as well as with a more rustic meal of mushroom risotto, steak, etc. Its structure is substantial and overall a go to pinot noir.

closing xox jenna

Leave a comment